The building which houses the LaHave Bakery, Homegrown Skateboards and the Craft Co-Op was originally the home of the LaHave Outfitting Company, a ship's chandlery and fish processing plant. It was built in 1896 and has stood the test of time, not to mention harsh weather and seas, thanks to the impressively solid construction. The outfitting company itself dates to the early 1900s. Some files and photographs from this time are stored in the main lunch room in the bakery for visitors to view. For those who wish to delve further, the Dalhousie University Archives have records relating to the LaHave Outfitters. Follow this link: http://www.library.dal.ca/DUASC/FindingAids/MS_4_88/
You can also click on the image below to read more about the early history of the LaHave Outfitting building.
The following photos show LaHave and the LaHave Outfitters building as it was prior to redevelopment in the 1980s. Click on each photo to view a larger version - the larger image will open in a new window.
Gael and Michael Watson purchased the building with their friends, Kathryn and Russ Gordon, back in 1984. By this time it was in need of extensive renovation. They undertook the installation of a new roof, repair to the wharf, and modifications for a bakery. The first floor and basement now contain the kitchens, craft co-op, bakery shop, and various storage areas. The second floor contains the offices and an exhibition space. The third floor has an apartment and Homegrown Skateboards.